This weekend we celebrate our Independence Day

I have no idea of the specifics of what I am doing for the 4th of July holiday.  In fact, there really may be no specifics at all – and that does not bother me on little bit, let me tell ya.  But I do know this: it will be just the two of us –
starting some time tomorrow afternoon.  Jay and I will have three whole days of newly wedded bliss with no interruptions. And, yes, there will be fireworks. 

Greta will be at a celebration in Dothan.  Ezra will be with his dad.  And, while there will be a baby constantly present, he is en utero and makes very few demands (well, except for me not being able to roll over or sleep on my back or stomach or go more than 30 minutes without a bathroom break or…) But even with all that he is still a pretty quiet little guy comparatively speaking so we don’t have to worry too much about him.  By this time next year he will be experiencing his first 4th complete with fireworks and a 4-year-old big brother who will think it is the coolest thing ever.

Yesterday I had another ultrasound.  One of the neat things about being 40 and pregnant is that they do not skimp on the sonograms – we have 12 pictures of this little guy so far. As the appointment was earlier than normal and we are all lazy in the mornings, Jay and I were running late so we took Ezra with us.  He has not been to any other appointments, so I did not know what he would think. It is safe to say he enjoyed it.  And while seeing a baby through Mommy’s belly on a TV when it is all white and static-y may be hard for a three-year-old to “get,” I really do think he got it.  He has been talking about the “baby bruder” and how he is “growing big and strong in Mommy’s belly and Ezra is growing big and strong, too.  Right, Mommy?”  Growing big and strong is a big topic around our house right now.  The more he talks about it the more I think that I am really going to enjoy raising brothers.  It will be a totally new experience and I am looking forward to it. Next year we will do the family picnic somewhere with a symphony followed by fireworks and a mile long trek back to the car for a bumper-car ride home.

But this year…back to the childless bliss

I am sure there will be grill time.  I am sure there will be beer (for Jay, dangit).  I am also sure there will be sleeping in and naps.  There will be a bit of cleaning and putting the house in order tomorrow so I can enjoy 2 full days of quiet as well.  To top it all off, I get to start this long weekend in under an hour.  Don’t you wish you were me?

So everyone have a wonderful 4th.  Eat your hot dogs, drink your beer and watch your fireworks.  Hell, have a slice of apple pie.  Find a fireworks display preceded by a symphony or stay home and watch Pops Goes the 4th …whatever floats your patriotic boat, but don’t forget to sing that Lee Greenwood song loud and proud and wave your flag. And keep in mind that as maddening as it can be, we are Americans and it is all good. “You have to love a nation that celebrates its independence every July 4, not with a parade of guns, tanks, and soldiers who file by the White House in a show of strength and muscle, but with family picnics where kids throw Frisbees, the potato salad gets iffy, and the flies die from happiness.  You may think you have overeaten, but it is patriotism.”  ~Erma Bombeck

I am now headed to Publix to buy supplies with which to do my patriotic duty. Yum!

Leave a Reply

