The Versatile Blogger Award

I am so excited! You see, I have this trifle of a blog that I have been dumping all the inane shit in my head out into since February.  And people are reading it.  I know!  I can barely believe it, either.  What’s even better is that cool people I like are reading it – not crazies.  Wow. 

I am still new at this and quite a bit self-conscious about it all.  Imagine my surprise when today I clicked on a link one of my favorite bloggers posted in a comment and saw that she not only had a Versatile Blogger Award (Congratulations, Renee!!) but that she had listed me in her top 15 favorite blogs! First of all I have never been in a list of anyone’s favorites, so I am humbled and totally excited about that.  Second, I have never won any kind of award since I got that Jimmy Carter Peanut Radio for selling the 2nd most cookies or something in 2nd grade (I also got my picture in the paper for that.  No joke.  I will scan it and post it sometime.  You gotta appreciate all those little moments of fame, right?).  And, third, Renee is awesome and I am honored she likes me. 

Now, apparently there are rules for this. 

1. Thank the award-giver and link back to them in your post.  [In case my above blubbering was unclear, thank you, thank you, thank you, Renee!!]

2. Share 7 things about yourself.

3. Pass this award along to 15 recently discovered blogs you enjoy reading.

4. Contact your chosen bloggers to let them know about the award.

5. Post a picture of the Versatile Blogger Award on your site.

Um, 7 things about me:

  1. I am a total procrastinator.  Don’t believe me?  Read this.
  2. I was a Brownie, but never a Girl Scout.
  3. I had two kidney surgeries when I was 5 resulting in a 2 month hospital stay, a transfusion and a 5 inch scar.
  4. I always have blood red toenails – even in the dead of winter. 
  5. I hate it when people ask me if my hair is naturally red.  I hate it because I am not sure of the answer and I never know what to say.  Do people ask blondes this or just redheads?
  6. I did not like Guns N Roses when they first came out.  As a matter of fact, I still hate Axl Rose’s voice and listen to GNR now as more of a nostalgic thing than a real love of the music.
  7. At least once a day I have to remind myself that I am a 40 year old woman.  I still feel like I did at 17 and the last 23 years seem to be a blur that only took a few years instead of 2 decades. 

I am new at this, so I don’t have 15 blogs I like to read.   I will list the ones that I do read, at the very least.

  1. The first is, of course, Pooter and Booger’s Place.  Renee has lived a fascinating life and she honestly tells you all about it. 
  2. Corey over at The Hopeful Cynic is a wonderful writer.  She is moving and hilarious…and in just the right combination. 
  3. Write Gnome Write encourages you to release your inner gnome.  I met the author in 6th grade.  She is truly remarkable.
  4. Jonel Fernando and I crossed paths a few months back.  He is a prolific and interesting writer.  I always leave his blog with something to think about.  And that’s really what writing is supposed to be about, right?
  5. Anastasia over at Sweet Butter Bliss is so relatable and honest you cannot help but like her. 

That’s really all I’ve got.  I will have to be a better blogger and read more blogs.  Some I do like that you may have heard of are:

Rants from Mommyland,

Mommy Shorts, and

The Mouthy Housewives

1 comment
  1. I told you that post would be hard work, did I not?! Have a wonderful holiday wth Sawyer, Ezra, Jay, and Greta. See you, read you in the New Year.

Leave a Reply

