Rant Against the Religious Right…

This is a bit harsh, but I feel it needs to be said.  Read at your own risk. 

I would like someone to explain to me just where the religious right gets off?  What exactly is it about this group of people who for some reason seem to think that they are so fucking superior that they can tell the rest of us how to live, worship, spend our money and everything else that they think they can get away with regulating in a supposedly free society???

I suppose they think that they have such a strong grasp on morality that they have not only the authority but the God given right to dictate their version of morality to the rest of us because they are somehow given this right by God Himself.  Funny, but I am pretty damn sure that is the EXACT reasoning Bin Laden and the 9/11 hijackers used to kill more than 3000 Americans. 

There are over 6.9 BILLION people in this world.  Only 2.3 billion of those are Christians.  About the same amount are Muslim.  That means that each religion is only a third of the world’s population, but for some reason both these minorities think they are divinely granted the right to force their belief system on the rest of us.  What gall!

Now, I am not Muslim.  I cannot begin to understand that religion.  Generally speaking, unless you are one of those who want to destroy me and my way of life as a part of your faith, I have no problem with you. 

I do, however, take issue with the Christians who want to impose their version of morality on me by passing laws that would infringe on my rights to do what I want with my body in the privacy of my own home and what my doctor and family deem to be medically necessary for me. 

The first reason I have a problem with it is because it is insulting.  I was raised a Christian.  But my beliefs are NONE OF YOUR BUSINESS.  It is between me and God and I will thank you to keep your high minded nose out of my business.  If I want to give my husband a blow job, have anal sex or invite another person into our bedroom it is NONE OF YOUR BUSINESS.  You have no more right to know what goes on it the privacy of my home than I can decide what goes on in yours.  I will not tell you what kind of sex you can have with your husband or what you can teach your children about that sexual relationship.  The idea that I would presume to do so would surely be offensive to you, so where do you get off thinking that you are so morally superior that you can dictate my relationship to me??  Fuck you.

And Fuck all of you who think that you may disagree with passing laws against or abolishing the right to privacy, “but after all, I am not gay, I am never going to be gay so it does not effect me.” You think it is not important to you? Then you’d better think again, you cowards.  Because if you allow someone to pass laws in our society because they just don’t effect you, give it time.  Eventually it will effect you. And then where will you be???  If Rick Perry, Michelle Bachmann, Rick Santorum and their ilk had their way, then you would not be able to go on birth control, have sex while your wife is on her period, have oral or anal sex or decide and have to give birth to a child who would not only kill you to have, but who would then die a horrible death itself because you would not be able to make that awful decision yourself without risking jail. Hell, as a woman you may not be able to be on top.  If you can out law this sexual act, then there is a whole host of others that may be deemed “deviant.” And who gets to be the arbiter of what is deviant and what is not????

Is this a free society?? No! It sounds like the morality police to me.  And where do they have those??? Oh, yeah.  In societies where women are segregated for their “respectful protection” and where they have to have “guardians.” Where men and women can be sentenced to public lashing and such things.  Is this the direction we want our society to go in?? Under the guise of “protecting the family?” Yeah, and they just want to “protect” women in Saudi Arabia and Afghanistan, too. 

Whatever happened to the idea that “I may disagree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it?” This is the kind of ideal that a free society is based on.  And I would argue that the right to physically demonstrate love and desire is even more basic than the right to say what I want short of yelling “Fire” in a theater. 

Rick Santorum says he wants to stay out of my wallet. Well, you know what, Rick?  Why don’t you get the fuck out of my bedroom first?  Because that is even more personal, private and none of your business.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

